Safe

Photo Credit

“I’ve come to the conclusion that the two most important things in life are good friends and a good bullpen.  ~Bob Lemon, 1981”

I love baseball.  Really love.  I can talk baseball.  With guys if necessary.  Who’s pitching?  Oh!  How’s his shoulder doin’?  How many games back?  What?!!!!  Upton hit a fly in the bottom of the 9th to win it?  WOOOHOOO!!!

“The other sports are just sports.  Baseball is a love.”  ~Bryant Gumbel, 1981

My baseball crush came on late in life.  Like an allergy.  One day you can eat clams and the next thing you know shell fish gives you hives the size of melons.  Baseball is the best allergy I have ever had.  I love the smell.  I love the pace.  I love the game.  There are plates.  Anything that has a plate must be good.  Yes.  Baseball is my favorite.

“There are three things in my life which I really love:  God, my family, and baseball.  The only problem – once baseball season starts, I change the order around a bit.”  ~Al Gallagher, 1971

Baseball is all about being safe.  Just make it home.  Help your guy make it home if you can’t make it home…..RBI.  Home plate. Safe.  Win.  That about sums it up.  I want to be home.  Safe.  Winning in that life winning sort of way.  The kind of winning that really just means fulfillment and happiness and contentment.  Peace with who you are and where you are.  Home.  Safe.

“This is a game to be savored, not gulped.  There’s time to discuss everything between pitches or between innings.”  ~Bill Veeck

I decided that not knowing where you are going to live must be like rounding 3rd.  The base coach is waving you on.  You can’t see where the ball is.  Just keep going.  If you could feel it in slow motion you would feel that anxiety that comes with wondering if you will even make it home.  Such uncertainity.  Such fear.

But isn’t that what any trial is about?  I have a sister-in-law with M.S.  A friend with a handicap child.  A friend with a handicap.  What will become of me?  What will become of my child?  What does the future hold?

Such uncertainty.  Such fear.  Will we make it home?  Safe?  The base coach just keeps waving us on.  Just keep going.

And so it is.  Everyone just wants to be safe.  Everyone just wants the ones they love to be safe.  And the base coach just keeps waving us on.

So we put our heads down and trust Him.  He must know whether or not we will make it home.  He must.  There is that surge of energy that comes with trusting the coach.  We try harder.  We move forward a little stronger.  More certain.  Less fearful.

Besides.  If we don’t make it home in that inning there may very well be another.  Such is the way with baseball.

“God is living in Arizona.  And He is a D-Backs Fan.” – M.M.C.  (Really Tom Seaver.  But he is a Mets fan.)

~ by pandmcox on June 2, 2011.

13 Responses to “Safe”

  1. Come home. We need you.

    • in a broader sense, i am home. yes. it’s true. my friend, i love you. where you are will always be another home for me, thank goodness. i think having more than one is a good thing.

  2. So when are we going to a Dbacks game? Dave and I have a couple buy one get one free passes….you’re coming, right? 🙂

    • um. YEAH. you should not have told me you have ticket deals. now i will drive you crazy like this:

      amy,

      when can you go to a game? huh? huh? huh? amy!!! when? now? tomorrow? i know you can’t be washing your hair again! amy…please…i just need to go to a game….won’t you please go….please…i am begging you…..

      anytime babes. anytime.

  3. You are so good. I’m not a fan of baseball, but all of a sudden, I’m loving the third base coach. Great analogy. Great writing. You are so good.

  4. What a great way to look at life and trust in our coach. Personally we think HE is a Red Sox fan. 🙂

  5. I love your stories. How the heck do you come up with these great analogies! Lessons everywhere. We are moving! Jacksonville, Florida.

    • i hope your move is going well! going home is way fun!!! 🙂 i am glad we have stayed friends. it is good to have friends. now i will have a florida friend! 😉

  6. MISTY – I am SuPER behind. I can’t even read the comments, which I love to do. I SAW THAT STORM ON THE NEWS. There’s a name for it – a balulu or something arabic. It was TERRIFYING. And you were in the middle of it? I AM FREAKING OUT> FREAKING FREAKING OUT. Your day sounds like my last two weeks. But all in one day. I’m on the way to Santa Fe tomorrow – hoping when I get there, I’ll be able to sit down and actually read and write and not feel like I’m spinning in the wind. LOVES and so grateful – so darned grateful that you got Paul before the sandstorm hit. Wow. Wonder what happened to that pool – and it’s a good thing you hit the emergency room before that happened, huh?

  7. Wait. That comment was supposed to be on the storm one. I’m putting it there. AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
