Mix It Up

Photo Credit

Doug: “Are you a good or bad mutant?”  Bob: ” No way, eh. Radiation has made me a menace to society, eh.” – Strange Brew 1983

I like to think of myself as that strange concoction kids come up with in the kitchen when the parents are out on a date.  Fear factor kind of stuff.  I’ll be more specific.  Think milk, ketchup, cheerios, and hot sauce.  And pickle juice.  Over dog food.

“Geez, you’re real nice. If I didn’t have puke breath, I’d kiss you.”- Strange Brew 1983

Most people can say they are from Indiana or Kansas.  They can say their mama grew up there in Washington and their dad grew up in Northern Cal and they met in college.  Not me.  I have a way more interesting story than that.

“Take off, you hoser.”- Strange Brew 1983

My dad grew up on a little tiny island off of Kodiak, Alaska.  He is Alaska native.  I get my fabulous skin from him.  Kind of.  He turns into a brown bear in the summer.  I just turn a nice golden hue.  “Thank You Daddy.”

My mom grew up in a little town in the deep south.  All those redneck jokes are actually true.  You can ask my mom.  She gave me my wonderful witty sense of humor.  “Thank You Mother!”

“I am your father, Luke. Give in to the dark side of the force, you knob.”- Strange Brew 1983

Now all you have to do is add the fact that I am Mormon and you’ve got it.

Alaska Native Aleut Southern Redneck Mormon.

Top That Baby!

~ by pandmcox on June 23, 2010.

16 Responses to “Mix It Up”

  1. Montanan Native drunken Redneck Scott-Irish Polish Jewish Jack Mormon. 😀

    • I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT!!!!!!!!

      I knew you was a Jack Mormon.

      HA!!!!

      🙂

      actually, i knew you would come up with something hilarious. and you did. oh rachel. you so funny girl.

  2. I am still laughing! I love it! I love how so many of us can say the same thing…we are a mixture of so many worlds and ideas. I look at my non-religious family culture and the LDS culture I’ve become a part of and I think sometimes I am very fortunate to get to see the positive and negative of each. I get to mix it all up and create something entirely unique in my own life. Maybe that is part of your wisdom, Misty…you are a mixture of so many wonderful things. Lucky you. 🙂

  3. PS- I love “Strange Brew” but I absolutely HAVE to eat donuts if I watch it. It can’t be helped.

  4. Love it! I don’t think I could top that.

  5. Now THAT is impressive! I wouldn’t expect anything less from someone as fab as you.

    I don’t even know what I would be. Let’s try Spanish Forkian, Oregonian by way of England & Germany, with a sprinkle of Black Dutch, born & bred mormon. I guess that ain’t so bad.

  6. Dang. I fit the stereotype. SouthernCal meets country girl (deep mountains of Utah). They met in college. To make it more stereotypical—same ward.

  7. ummmm i prefer to think of you as a southern redneck alaskan native aleut mormon. i think i should get top billing since you were born in the south. just sayin:) mom

  8. You are absolutely one of a kind!

    I can’t top it, but I’ll try to match it. My dad was born in Zimbabwe (then known as Rhodesia) and my mom is Canadian.

    I’m an All-White-African-American-Canuck-Molly Mormon. Not bad, eh?

Leave a Reply

 
